Links / Bookmarks

Links are - for sure - the heart of LinkAce and store information about bookmarks together with their corresponding meta data. The core concept is that you can simply save URLs and LinkAce will try to parse some meta data from the website. You may also categorize links by adding tags.

The link overview lists all available links together with some meta information like tags as well as the sharing options and links for editing and deleting them.

Links can be displayed in two different formats, which can be changed in the user settings.

Preview of the Link overview: rows

Preview of the Link overview: rows

Preview of the Link overview: cards


Preview of the Link form

New links can be added in two ways: directly from the dashboard by using the “Quick Add” form, or by using the more powerful main form available via the “Add Link” link in the menu bar.

The main form shows you a lot of different fields which will be described in the following overview:

Field Required Description
URL Yes Contains the URL of the link you want to add
Title No You may set a custom title for the link here. If left blank, LinkAce will try to parse the title from the website.
Description No You may set a custom description for the link here. If left blank, LinkAce will try to parse the description from the website.
List No Used to add the link to lists. When you start typing, LinkAce will search for existing lists. If there are none you may add new lists by just entering them here.
Tags No Used to add tags for the link. When you start typing, LinkAce will search for existing tags. If there are none you may add new tags by just entering them here.
Is Private No Set the privacy mode of the link here.

If you would like to add several links in a row, check the “Continue Adding” box. If checked, you will not be redirected to the link details page, but will see the link form again.


Preview of Link Details

The link detail page shows all available information about the link, including title, description, lists and tags. From the details page you can directly hop into the edit form or delete the link.

You will also be shown all share links if you enabled some in the user settings.

Each link can have several notes. Those may be used to add more detailed information about the link or leaving hints to your guest viewers. Notes can like links be either private or not private. Private notes can only be read by yourself.

Change History

The change history at the bottom of the link details shows you your recent changes with the timestamp and the previous value. Changes are recorded for all link values and assigned lists and tags.


Automatic Backups with the Wayback Machine

After you add a link to LinkAce, it will schedule an automatic “backup” with the help of the Wayback Machine (archive.org). This backup will help you access the contents of your saved link in case it goes offline. The Wayback Machine itself is not capable of knowing every website available, so LinkAce will just ping the service, so the website can be archived.

You need to have the cron set up for this automated backup to work.

Also, if you set up the cron correctly, LinkAce will regularly check all links if they are still available. More details about this can be found on the Link Checks page.